Sunday, October 18, 2009

Series Sunday - The Offspring by Jaime Rush

Jaime Rush aka Tina Wainscott has a new paranormal series out. It sort of reminded me a little of the TV show Heroes. Twenty years ago the US government had a confidential experiment involving people with psychic abilities. They were given a special injection that would enhance these abilities. Unfortunately, it came with some nasty side effects, such as mental instability and revved-up sex drives. All of them eventually ended up dead. The government shut down the program but kept tabs on the children of those first test subjects.

These children are now adults, each with different psychic abilities. A few of the Offspring grew up together, but others are scattered all around the states. The head scientist from the first experiment wants to start a second experiment using the Offspring. One by one he is hunting them down and planning on using them for his own nefarious purposes.

I have only read the first book in the series. I will post my review soon, but I was very impressed with the concept of this series. It was filled with thrilling suspense and interesting characters. I would highly suggest reading this series in order. Each book contains a stand alone romance, but there is a story arc that evolves from book to book. The first book was released in February 2009 and the second book just released this month.

Series Reading Order:

1. A Perfect Darkness (Lucas and Amy)
2. Out of the Darkness (Zoe and Rand)
3. Bitten by Cupid (Anthology) release date: January 2010
4. Touching Darkness (Nicholas and Olivia)
5. Burning Darkness (Raine and Eric) February 2011


Maija said...

This sounds interesting. And I just love that cover!

Kara Lee Lovell said...

Can't wait to read it. In fact so much so that I just downloaded the first books so I can read them in order. (Funny that way).